Lakehead University Alumni Magazine

Great Grads

Published April 29, 2010

Angela Maltese

Angela Maltese

Angela Maltese (HB Comm '85) has been appointed to the Board of Directors of the Ontario Arts Council (OAC). Angela was the 1985 recipient of the Dean Braun Medal from Lakehead University. She is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario and was entered on their Roll of Honour in 1987. She has taught management accounting at Lakehead University and has been an assistant team leader and marker for the Uniform Final Exam (the annual national Canadian Chartered Accountancy exam). She is a partner at Grant Thornton LLP, one of Canada's leading professional services firm providing accounting and business advisory services.

The OAC is an arm's-length agency of the Ontario Ministry of Culture and was established to foster the creation and production of art for the benefit of all Ontarians. It is governed by 12 volunteer board members appointed by the Government of Ontario. In 2008-09, the OAC funded 1,443 individual artists and 1,006 organizations for a total of $47.7 million. These grants were of benefit to artists and arts organizations in 200 communities across Ontario.

Daniel Klein

Daniel Klein

Daniel Klein (HBSc'01, MSc'09) is President of the Northwestern Ontario Writers Workshop (NOWW), the largest literary arts organization in the region, with over 100 members. NOWW has been hosting workshops, readings, and an annual writing contest for over a decade. For its members, NOWW produces a quarterly newsletter. For the public, it offers 807: A Northeastern Ontario Literary Review.

Tip a Friend

Multiple Recipients?
Separate the email addresses with a comma.

Word Verification Audio of Word Verification
Type the characters you see in the picture above.

Your Email Subscription

Let us know if you would like to:
Subscribe OR Unsubscribe

Submit Class Note

Do you want your email address public?
Word VerificationAudio of Word Verification
Type the characters you see in the picture above.